Skip to main content

Causes of World War I: Home

Which of the focus areas below had the greatest influence on the outbreak of World War I?

1. Berlin Baghdad Railroad

2. Moroccan Crisis

3. German Chancellor Bismarck is Fired

4. Russo-Japanese War

5. Franco-Prussian War

6. 1st and 2nd Balkan Crisis

Moroccan Crisis

German Chancellor Bismarck

Bismarck’s Fall from Power, 1890; University of Michigan

https://networks.h-net.org/node/35008/pages/60783/

bismarcks-fall-power-1890

 

Otto von Bismarck, 1815-1898; BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/

bismarck_otto_von.shtml

 

Overview of Bismarck; Encyclopedia Britannica

https://www.britannica.com/biography/Otto-von-Bismarck

 

Bismarck and World War I; The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/world/blog/2014/

dec/31/bismarck-escaped-blame-first-world-war

 

Bismarck and the Quest for German Unity

http://www.stmuhistorymedia.org/iron-chancellor-otto-von-bismarck/

 

Berlin Baghdad Railroad

The Berlin-Baghdad Railroad

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2010/jul/18/berlin-baghdad-express-mcmeekin-review

 

The Bagdad Railway 1899-1914; Mt. Holyoke

https://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/boshtml/bos139.htm

 

The Baghdad Railway; Encyclopedia Britannica

https://www.britannica.com/topic/Baghdad-Railway

 

 

Russo-Japanese War

Russo-Japanese War; Encyclopedia Britannica

https://www.britannica.com/event/Russo-Japanese-War

 

The Treaty of Portsmouth and the Russo-Japanese War; US State Department

https://history.state.gov/milestones/1899-1913/portsmouth-treaty

 

Russian Japanese War; Causes and Significance

https://encyclopedia.1914-1918-online.net/article/russian-japanese-war

 

Franco-Prussian War

Franco-Prussian War; Encyclopedia Britannica

https://www.britannica.com/event/Franco-German-War

 

Franco-Prussian War, causes, significance; Columbia Encyclopedia

https://www.encyclopedia.com/history/modern-europe/wars-and-battles/franco-prussian-war

Overview: Causes of WWI

Timeline 1839-1914. The Long Fuse

http://www.worldwar1.com/tlprewar.htm

 

Timeline: The July Crisis 1914

http://www.worldwar1.com/tlplot.htm

 

Timeline: June 28, 1914; The Assassination in Sarajevo

http://www.worldwar1.com/tlsara.htm

 

The Great War 1914-1918; National Archives

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/education/greatwar/

 

The Deadly Alliances 1879-1914

http://www.worldwar1.com/tlalli.htm

 

The Slide to War 1911-1914

http://www.fsmitha.com/h2/ch04.htm

 

The Secret Serbian Terrorist Society

http://net.lib.byu.edu/estu/wwi/comment/blk-hand.html

 

War and Neutral Rights

http://countrystudies.us/united-states/history-86.htm

 

Weapons of War; The Machine Gun

http://www.firstworldwar.com/weaponry/machineguns.htm

 

Franco-Prussian War

http://history-world.org/franco_prussian_war.htm

 

 

 

 

1st and 2nd Balkan Crisis