Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black History: Home

Links

African Americans and the Vote

African Americans and the Vote

The theme selected for the 2020 African American History Month is African Americans and the Vote. The Association for the Study of African American Life and History explains that this year's theme "speaks ... to the ongoing struggle on the part of both black men and black women for the right to vote." This year, 2020, marks the centennial anniversary of the passing of the Nineteenth Amendment (1920) culminating in the rights of women to vote; it also marks the 150th anniversary of the passage of the Fifteenth Amendment (1870) granting black men the right to cast a ballot.

Historical Events

Black History & Civil Rights Movement Timeline

Primary Source Digital Collections

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

FBI - The Vault is the Federal Bureau of Investigation's Library which contains 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies. The Vault includes an extensive collection of documents related to Civil Rights and Popular Culture. Materials related to figures such as W.E.B. DuBois, Malcolm X, Freedom Riders, Martin Luther King Jr, Coretta Scott King, are contained within the Vault. 

National Archives houses the historical documents of the United States. It contains millions of documents, artifacts, records, photographs, and Ephemera. Among its digitized collections is an extensive set of primary source documents on Black History. Documents cover slavery and abolition, segregation, the Great Migration, and Civil Rights.

BlackPast.org provides a "13,000 page reference center dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world." It is a comprehensive repository of documents and materials that explore and explain African American history.

Born in Slavery Collection from the Library of Congress. "Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves."