Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Astronomy Open Ed Resources
Why Quasars Are So Awesome
Star Timeline/Life Cycle Websites
Astronomy Image Explorer
The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals. Users are able to easily search for images with any combination of author, journal, citation, format, and key words. Copyright information is conveniently embedded in each file downloaded from the site.
Hubble Space Telescope Images
ESA/Hubble images, videos and web texts are available for reuse under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.
NASA Image and Video Library
The majority of NASA's image library is available to use without copyright restrictions, with the exception of images with the NASA logo.
General Astronomy Resources
Apollo Image Archive
"Arizona State University and NASA’s Johnson Space Center in Houston have teamed up to make high-res scans of original Apollo flight films available online."
The NASA program site defines astrobiology as the study of life in the universe. It provides a biological perspective to many areas of NASA research, linking such endeavors as the search for habitable planets, and efforts to understand the origin of life.
Astronomiae Historia / History of Astronomy
An extensive site that covers the history of astronomy, biographies, topics in astronomy.
Several sections: "Ask the Astronomer," has thousands of questions and answers; "NASA Image-Poetry Site," with various educational resources; and an "Astronomy Career Guide." Operated by a NASA astronomer.
Astronomy Picture of the Day
A new photograph is offered daily with description and definition of terms.
Cool Cosmos Infrared Astronomy Tutorial.
Includes news and discoveries, classroom activities, images, Ask an Astronomer videos, astronomy for kids, and more.
Eric Weisstein's World of Astronomy
Weisstein is an encyclopedist who hopes to make science accessible to the public.
HubbleSite (Space Telescope Public Photographs)
Great photos taken by the orbiting Hubble telescope. Arranged both by subject and by date. The images can take some time to download. Links to other web sites with astronomical images are also included.
International Astronomical Union
The IAU works to promote astronomical education, research and public outreach.
Library of Congress Selected Internet Resources -- Astronomy
Great set of links put together by the Library of Congress. Divided by category.
"This website is an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of the planets, moons, and other objects in our solar system."
Material relating the history, science, and legend behind the Northern Lights, also referred to as "Aurora Borealis." The site is sponsored by Andya Rocket Range, the Norwegian Space Centre, and Nordlyssenteret.
Phil Plait's Bad Astronomy
An astronomer, teacher, and lecturer, Phil Plait's page is devoted to "airing out myths and misconceptions in astronomy and related topics," as they appear in the media, particularly in movies and on television. His book developed from the website.
Photopic Sky Survey
The Photopic Sky Survey is a 5,000 megapixel photograph of the entire night sky stitched together from 37,440 exposures.
Scientists at NASA and JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) are seeking Earth-like exoplanets. Includes up-to-date news reports on research, a searchable New Worlds Atlas, missions and educational resources.
A companion Web site to the PBS/NOVA program, 'Runaway Universe,' originally broadcast on November 11, 2000. The program follows the efforts of two teams of astronomers as they search for exploding stars, and map out gigantic cosmic patterns of galaxies.
This is a search engine for government science information and research results. It provides searches of more than 50 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 1,800 scientific web sites.
Stanford Solar Center
This site presents a collection of fun educational activities based on Solar Oscillations Investigation (SOI) and Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO) data.
The program serves as the public education and outreach arm of the University of Texas McDonald Observatory. Includes weekly tips, a stargazing almanac, a beginner's guide, and tips for viewing the planets and meteors.
Stellarium is a free open source planetarium for your computer. It shows a realistic sky in 3D, just like what you see with the naked eye, binoculars or a telescope. This free downloadable software includes features such as overlays of constellation art.
PDS: The Planetary Data System
The Planetary Data System (PDS) is a long-term archive of digital data products returned from NASA's planetary missions, and from other kinds of flight and ground-based data acquisitions, including laboratory experiments.
High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC)
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions studying electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic cosmic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang.
NASA/IPAC Extragalatic Database (NED)
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.
American Astronomical Society
The Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics
Your online destination for news articles on planets, cosmology, NASA, space missions, and more. You’ll also find information on how to observe upcoming visible sky events such as meteor showers, solar and lunar eclipses, key planetary appearances, comets, and asteroids.